Beaumont Hospital

Print Print Page | A | A | A

Current Board Members

Beaumont Hospital is governed by the Beaumont Hospital Board, which was established under the Beaumont Hospital Board (Establishment Order) 1977; SI No. 255 of 1977, with two amendment Orders in 1988.  The Health (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2007 introduced changes to the Board chiefly to reflect the establishment of the Health Service Executive.

Following a Public Appointment Service (PAS) advertising campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has appointed the following persons as members of the Beaumont Hospital Board.

Ms. Loretto Callaghan

loretta boardMs Callaghan is an experienced non-executive director with country leadership, executive leadership, and board directorship experience in the Biopharmaceutical / Healthcare sector. In her most recent role, she was CEO and Country President of Novartis in Ireland where she led a series of organisational restructures, and culture and busin

ess model transformations. She also served as Chair and executive director of the Irish Subsidiary board of Novartis AG, was a board member of the Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association (IPHA) and Chair of the IPHA Brexit Group. Ms Callaghan holds a M.Sc. from Trinity College, Dublin, and a B.Sc. from University College Dublin and has studied Healthcare Systems at the Harvard School of Public Health. She is a Chartered Director with the UK Institute of Directors and is a member of the Governance Advisory Council of the Corporate Governance Institute.

Ms. Louise McMorrow

louise boardLouise McMorrow is a Certified Investment Fund Director and Chartered Accountant operating almost 20 years in the Funds, Structured Finance, and Banking & Capital Markets sectors. She has 12 years governance experience across a range of Investment companies. Her current Independent Non-Executive Director appointments include Irish domiciled Private Equity, Real Estate and Credit structures of regulated Global Alternative Investment Managers.

Formerly Executive Director and Head of Financial Reporting Ireland for LSE listed administrator Sanne Group (previously State Street Global Services). Prior to this Louise was with PricewaterhouseCoopers where she held a market risk advisory role and was also engaged in the provision of audit services to banks, funds and corporate treasuries. She has also worked as a part time lecturer with Dublin City University.

 Louise is an associate member of the Irish Fund Directors Association, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Ireland and a member of the Certified Investment Fund Director Institute.

Kevin O’Donovan

Kevin-boardKevin is currently a Lecturer in Audit & Assurance at the UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School Masters in Accounting Programme. He had a legacy 34 year career in professional practice in KPMG Ireland as an Audit Engagement Partner covering listed, state and private entities including SEC Registrants and served a Term as Head of Audit. He also served for 6 years in KPMG International’s Global Risk Management Team. Separately, Kevin has previously served terms as Chairman of Audit Committee Institute Ireland, Chair of the Audit Committee of Arts Council Ireland, Chair of the Audit Committee of the Irish Auditing & Accounting Supervisory Authority, a member of the Audit Committee of Tusla, The Child Protection Agency, and a member of the Independent Oversight Board as a nominee of the Commission for Communications Regulation. 

He has served on standard setting bodies in Audit & Assurance in Ireland and Internationally (including Chartered Accountants Ireland, Auditing Practices Board (UK) and task forces of the International Audit & Assurance Standards Board).

Mr. Henry McGarvey

henry_mcgarveyHenry is the Vice-president of Finance and Corporate Services in Letterkenny Institute of Technology and prior to that was the Head of Computing and Creative Practices in Institute of Technology Sligo.

Before joining the public sector, Henry led Pramerica Systems Ireland Limited for 13 years, growing the organisation from a start-up to more than 1,000 IT professionals. Prior to returning to Ireland, Henry worked in Saudi Arabia as Head of Information Technology in Almarai. Henry also held senior management positions with Motorola and as an IT Consultant with Accenture.

Henry has served on various boards including as a member of the board of the IDA and Ilex (Northern Ireland). Henry chaired the Governing Body of Letterkenny Institute of Technology, the American Chamber of Commerce Ireland, Pramerica Systems Ireland Ltd., as well as a Trustee of the Pramerica Pensions Fund. Henry chairs the Donegal Clinical Academy Trust, is a member of the board of An Grianan theatre in Letterkenny, serves on the audit committee of Donegal County Council and is a member of the board of the Donegal Investment Group plc.

Prof Paul McNally

Paul McNally Board memberPaul graduated from the UCD School of Medicine in 1998, completed his paediatric medical training in Ireland and subsequently completed his MD in with RCSI. Paul completed fellowship training at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and was appointed as a consultant in Respiratory Medicine at Children’s Health Ireland (CHI) at Crumlin in 2009. Paul is Associate Professor of Paediatrics at RCSI and Director of Research and Innovation for CHI. Pauls is a member of the working group of the National Clinical Programme for Cystic Fibrosis and a member of the Board of CF Registry of Ireland

Dr. Gerard Moore

gerard_mooreDr Gerard Moore is an Associate Professor and the Academic lead for Psychotherapy in the School of Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health in DCU. Gerry is the former Head of School and lectures on the Masters and Doctorate in Psychotherapy programmes and the Professional Diploma in Supervision. He is a registered practitioner member of the Association of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy in Ireland (APPI) and President of the Irish Chapter of the International Society of Nurses in Addiction (IntNSA).  He is a Registered Mental Health Nurse and Registered General Nurse having graduated from Beaumont Hospital in 1988.  Prior to working in DCU he was an Assistant Director of Nursing in the Mental Health Service. His research interests include projects on psychotherapy, addiction, and the management of care in mental health and social services.

Cllr. Daryl BarronDaryl_bannon

Daryl is a Dublin City Councillor that represents Donaghmede Electoral Area. He serves on the Finance Strategic Policy Committee for Dublin City Council, Dublin - North East Regional Health Forum, the Eastern & Midland Regional Assembly (EMRA) and is also involved in several community groups and organisations in his area.

Daryl works as a Senior Manager for Bank of Ireland working within Corporate Governance and has worked in a variety of roles within Financial Services. He is a Qualified Financial Advisor (QFA) since 2018 and holds a BA (Hons) Degree from National College of Ireland in Business Management. He was appointed to the Board of Beaumont Hospital by the Minister of Health in June 2020.

Ms.Pauline Philip

pauline-boardOriginally from Dublin & now dividing her time between London & Ireland, Pauline Philip is the National Director for Emergency and Elective Care in the NHS (England). With a nursing & science background, Pauline has held a number of CEO positions across all healthcare sectors and other senior positions in the Department of Health. She was the Director of Patient Safety in WHO from 2002 to 2010 and is presently the Chair of Lifebox, an international charity focused on safe surgery. She is an Honorary Member of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland and received a Damehood for services to the NHS in 2017.